Skip to main content
AVOID.NET
Rossen G. Iossifov3 decisions on this page

Audit log

Every state-changing event for Rossen G. Iossifov: moderation decisions on community submissions, plus corrections and updates from the news pipeline. URL-based decisions are designed to carry three independent witnesses — the original source, an Internet Archive snapshot, and a Solana memo signed by our publicly-disclosed publisher key. Archive coverage is still being backfilled, so each decision below reports its own snapshot status rather than assuming one exists.

  1. #1publishby system:backfill
    2026-08-02 12:35:19Z
    Score: ?? (no score change)
    anchoranchored
    chain
    mainnet-betaslot 443,503,583
    sig
    4FPKo3UNbT1H…mgrwLnJdexplorer ↗
    hash
    2WiZJGhH3CVp…cPheyAi5sha256 → base58
    verifying row…full verify ↗
    canonical bytes (17910 B) ▸
    {"actor":"system:backfill","investigation_id":"d4b0f97d-daa2-452a-90ca-bfeba11c25d5","kind":"publish","page_slug":"rossen-g-iossifov","published_at":"2026-08-02T12:35:19.197Z","sequence_num":1,"snapshot":{"content_type":"investigation","entity_name":"Rossen G. Iossifov","sections":[{"content":"Iossifov owned and operated RG Coins, a cryptocurrency exchange headquartered in Sofia, Bulgaria. He was convicted at trial in the Eastern District of Kentucky on two conspiracy counts: conspiracy to commit a RICO offense and conspiracy to commit money laundering. The conviction followed his role as a financial facilitator for the Alexandria Online Auction Fraud (AOAF) Network, a Romania-based criminal enterprise comprising at least 17 convicted members. The AOAF Network posted fraudulent listings for non-existent high-value goods — primarily vehicles — on platforms including eBay and Craigslist, defrauding at least 900 American victims and causing total fraud losses exceeding $7 million. Iossifov laundered approximately $5 million in cryptocurrency for at least four of five criminal co-conspirators from the network over less than three years, personally profiting more than $184,000. He was sentenced to 111 months (approximately 10 years) in federal prison by U.S. District Judge Robert Weir and ordered to pay restitution of $2,642,297.43 to victims. As part of the sentence, the court imposed a forfeiture order covering cryptocurrency held in an account registered to Iossifov at the Kraken cryptocurrency exchange, valued at approximately $290,000 at the time of the order.","heading":"2021 Conviction — RICO and Money Laundering","severity":"critical","sources":[{"credibility":2,"name":"Owner of Crypto Exchange RG Coins Gets 10 Years in Prison for Laundering $5M — CoinDesk","type":"news_article","url":"https://www.coindesk.com/policy/2021/01/13/owner-of-crypto-exchange-rg-coins-gets-10-years-in-prison-for-laundering-5m"},{"credibility":1,"name":"DOJ Office of Public Affairs — Man Serving Federal Prison Sentence Charged with Theft of Forfeited Cryptocurrency","type":"regulatory","url":"https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/man-serving-federal-prison-sentence-charged-theft-forfeited-cryptocurrency"},{"credibility":1,"name":"Eastern District of Kentucky DOJ Press Release","type":"regulatory","url":"https://www.justice.gov/usao-edky/pr/man-serving-federal-prison-sentence-charged-theft-forfeited-cryptocurrency"},{"credibility":1,"name":"United States v. Iossifov, No. 21-5404 (6th Cir. 2022) — Justia","type":"court_filing","url":"https://law.justia.com/cases/federal/appellate-courts/ca6/21-5404/21-5404-2022-08-12.html"}]},{"content":"On July 9, 2026, the DOJ announced new charges against Iossifov in the Eastern District of Kentucky stemming from conduct that allegedly occurred while he was incarcerated. Prosecutors allege that in January 2024, Iossifov conspired with unidentified associates to remove approximately $290,000 in cryptocurrency from a Kraken exchange account that had been restrained during his prior criminal investigation and subsequently ordered forfeited to the United States. The alleged conspiracy is said to have extended from January through December 2024. According to prosecutors, the funds were routed through multiple cryptocurrency exchanges and illicit mixing services before being converted to fiat currency and deposited into a foreign bank account, with the alleged purpose of preventing the U.S. government from obtaining custody of the assets. The new charges include: destruction or removal of property to prevent seizure; aiding and abetting; and conspiracy to commit money laundering. If convicted on all counts, Iossifov faces a maximum additional penalty of 25 years in prison. The investigation was led by the U.S. Secret Service with support from the DOJ's Office of International Affairs. Senior Counsel Vasantha Rao of the Criminal Division and Assistant U.S. Attorney Kathryn M. Dieruf of the Eastern District of Kentucky are prosecuting the case. Co-conspirators have not been publicly identified as of the date of the DOJ press release.","heading":"2026 Charges — Alleged Theft of Forfeited Cryptocurrency","severity":"critical","sources":[{"credibility":1,"name":"DOJ Office of Public Affairs — Man Serving Federal Prison Sentence Charged with Theft of Forfeited Cryptocurrency","type":"regulatory","url":"https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/man-serving-federal-prison-sentence-charged-theft-forfeited-cryptocurrency"},{"credibility":1,"name":"Eastern District of Kentucky DOJ Press Release","type":"regulatory","url":"https://www.justice.gov/usao-edky/pr/man-serving-federal-prison-sentence-charged-theft-forfeited-cryptocurrency"},{"credibility":2,"name":"Jailed Fraudster Charged With Moving $290K in Forfeited Crypto From Prison — Decrypt","type":"news_article","url":"https://decrypt.co/373212/jailed-fraudster-charged-with-moving-290k-in-forfeited-crypto-from-prison"},{"credibility":2,"name":"Federal inmate allegedly moved $290K in forfeited crypto while serving fraud sentence — CryptoBriefing","type":"news_article","url":"https://cryptobriefing.com/iossifov-charged-moving-forfeited-crypto/"}]},{"content":"A notable aspect of the alleged scheme is the mechanics of how forfeited funds remained accessible. Court filings and contemporaneous reporting indicate that the $290,000 was held in a Kraken exchange account registered in Iossifov's name. The account had been restrained during the original criminal investigation preceding his 2021 conviction. Prosecutors allege the funds were removed before the U.S. government took formal possession of the account, suggesting a gap between the court's forfeiture order and the government's actual key custody. Reporting by CryptoSlate noted that prosecutors did not disclose where the cryptocurrency was held prior to the transfers, who held the private keys, which specific services were used to move it, or whether the funds have since been recovered. This custody gap raises questions about government procedures for securing forfeited digital assets, as DOJ asset forfeiture policy requires immediate transfer of forfeited assets to agency-controlled wallets. No specific mixing service names or additional exchange names beyond Kraken have been publicly disclosed in available charging documents or press releases.","heading":"Kraken Account and Alleged Custody Gap","severity":"high","sources":[{"credibility":2,"name":"Convicted scammer's seized crypto moves to unknown wallets while in prison as DOJ failed to secure funds — CryptoSlate","type":"news_article","url":"https://cryptoslate.com/prisoners-seized-crypto-moves-to-unknown-wallets-before-doj-secures-the-funds/"},{"credibility":2,"name":"DOJ Says Inmate Moved $290K Through Crypto Mixers — CoinTelegraph","type":"news_article","url":"https://cointelegraph.com/news/us-prisoner-290k-crypto-restrained-kraken-account"},{"credibility":3,"name":"Convicted Money Launderer Accused of Stealing $290K From Seized Kraken Account — UEEx Blog","type":"news_article","url":"https://blog.ueex.com/money-launderer-accused-of-stealing-290k/"}]},{"content":"RG Coins was a Bulgaria-based cryptocurrency exchange operated by Iossifov that served as the primary financial infrastructure for the Alexandria Online Auction Fraud Network. The AOAF Network was a Romanian criminal organization with at least 17 convicted members who orchestrated large-scale online auction fraud against American consumers. Victims were deceived into paying for high-value goods — predominantly vehicles — that were never delivered. Payments were collected and converted into cryptocurrency, which was then channeled through RG Coins for laundering. Evidence presented at trial demonstrated that Iossifov knowingly facilitated these transactions, laundering approximately $5 million over fewer than three years across four co-conspirators in the network. He derived personal profit of more than $184,000 from the laundering operation. The total fraud loss attributable to the broader network exceeded $7 million. Iossifov's conviction was affirmed on appeal by the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals in August 2022.","heading":"Prior Scheme — RG Coins and the Alexandria Online Auction Fraud Network","severity":"critical","sources":[{"credibility":2,"name":"Owner of Crypto Exchange RG Coins Gets 10 Years in Prison for Laundering $5M — CoinDesk","type":"news_article","url":"https://www.coindesk.com/policy/2021/01/13/owner-of-crypto-exchange-rg-coins-gets-10-years-in-prison-for-laundering-5m"},{"credibility":1,"name":"United States v. Iossifov, No. 21-5404 (6th Cir. 2022) — Justia","type":"court_filing","url":"https://law.justia.com/cases/federal/appellate-courts/ca6/21-5404/21-5404-2022-08-12.html"},{"credibility":1,"name":"DOJ Office of Public Affairs press release","type":"regulatory","url":"https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/man-serving-federal-prison-sentence-charged-theft-forfeited-cryptocurrency"}]},{"content":"The Iossifov case has drawn attention from security researchers and crypto-industry observers as an example of a structural risk in government forfeiture enforcement. Unlike traditional financial assets, cryptocurrency forfeited via court order may remain technically accessible to a convicted party if the government has not taken physical custody of the relevant private keys or transferred the assets to a government-controlled wallet. Multiple outlets including CryptoSlate and BleepingComputer noted that the charging documents do not specify how Iossifov, while incarcerated, was able to coordinate the alleged removal of the funds, nor do they clarify whether the government had ever taken actual custody of the Kraken account prior to January 2024. The case is notable as a rare instance of a defendant allegedly exploiting a custody gap in government-held digital assets following a formal forfeiture judgment. The DOJ has not publicly disclosed whether the $290,000 has been recovered.","heading":"Broader Implications for Government Cryptocurrency Custody","severity":"medium","sources":[{"credibility":2,"name":"Convicted scammer's seized crypto moves to unknown wallets while in prison as DOJ failed to secure funds — CryptoSlate","type":"news_article","url":"https://cryptoslate.com/prisoners-seized-crypto-moves-to-unknown-wallets-before-doj-secures-the-funds/"},{"credibility":2,"name":"Money launderer accused of stealing seized crypto while in prison — BleepingComputer","type":"news_article","url":"https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/security/money-launderer-accused-of-stealing-seized-crypto-while-in-prison/"},{"credibility":2,"name":"Inmate charged with stealing seized cryptocurrency while serving prison sentence — SC Media","type":"news_article","url":"https://www.scworld.com/brief/inmate-charged-with-stealing-seized-cryptocurrency-while-serving-prison-sentence"}]},{"content":"Following the July 9, 2026 announcement of charges, several officials issued public statements. Assistant Attorney General A. Tysen Duva stated that defendants who flout lawfully entered court orders would be charged with obstructive conduct. First Assistant U.S. Attorney Jason Parman characterized the alleged conduct as a calculated attempt to undermine the rule of law. Special Agent Robert Holman of the U.S. Secret Service stated that the agency is committed to ensuring that victims of online fraud receive justice. Prosecution is led by Senior Counsel Vasantha Rao of the Criminal Division and Assistant U.S. Attorney Kathryn M. Dieruf of the Eastern District of Kentucky.","heading":"Official Statements","severity":"low","sources":[{"credibility":1,"name":"DOJ Office of Public Affairs — Man Serving Federal Prison Sentence Charged with Theft of Forfeited Cryptocurrency","type":"regulatory","url":"https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/man-serving-federal-prison-sentence-charged-theft-forfeited-cryptocurrency"}]}],"sources_used":[{"credibility":1,"name":"DOJ Office of Public Affairs — Man Serving Federal Prison Sentence Charged with Theft of Forfeited Cryptocurrency","type":"regulatory","url":"https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/man-serving-federal-prison-sentence-charged-theft-forfeited-cryptocurrency"},{"credibility":1,"name":"Eastern District of Kentucky DOJ Press Release","type":"regulatory","url":"https://www.justice.gov/usao-edky/pr/man-serving-federal-prison-sentence-charged-theft-forfeited-cryptocurrency"},{"credibility":1,"name":"United States v. Iossifov, No. 21-5404 (6th Cir. 2022) — Justia","type":"court_filing","url":"https://law.justia.com/cases/federal/appellate-courts/ca6/21-5404/21-5404-2022-08-12.html"},{"credibility":2,"name":"Owner of Crypto Exchange RG Coins Gets 10 Years in Prison for Laundering $5M — CoinDesk","type":"news_article","url":"https://www.coindesk.com/policy/2021/01/13/owner-of-crypto-exchange-rg-coins-gets-10-years-in-prison-for-laundering-5m"},{"credibility":2,"name":"Jailed Fraudster Charged With Moving $290K in Forfeited Crypto From Prison — Decrypt","type":"news_article","url":"https://decrypt.co/373212/jailed-fraudster-charged-with-moving-290k-in-forfeited-crypto-from-prison"},{"credibility":2,"name":"Federal inmate allegedly moved $290K in forfeited crypto while serving fraud sentence — CryptoBriefing","type":"news_article","url":"https://cryptobriefing.com/iossifov-charged-moving-forfeited-crypto/"},{"credibility":2,"name":"DOJ Says Inmate Moved $290K Through Crypto Mixers — CoinTelegraph","type":"news_article","url":"https://cointelegraph.com/news/us-prisoner-290k-crypto-restrained-kraken-account"},{"credibility":2,"name":"Convicted scammer's seized crypto moves to unknown wallets while in prison as DOJ failed to secure funds — CryptoSlate","type":"news_article","url":"https://cryptoslate.com/prisoners-seized-crypto-moves-to-unknown-wallets-before-doj-secures-the-funds/"},{"credibility":2,"name":"Money launderer accused of stealing seized crypto while in prison — BleepingComputer","type":"news_article","url":"https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/security/money-launderer-accused-of-stealing-seized-crypto-while-in-prison/"},{"credibility":2,"name":"US Charges Jailed Fraudster Over $290K Crypto Laundering Plot — BeInCrypto","type":"news_article","url":"https://beincrypto.com/iossifov-290k-crypto-laundering-charges/"},{"credibility":2,"name":"Inmate charged with stealing seized cryptocurrency while serving prison sentence — SC Media","type":"news_article","url":"https://www.scworld.com/brief/inmate-charged-with-stealing-seized-cryptocurrency-while-serving-prison-sentence"},{"credibility":2,"name":"DOJ charges inmate with laundering seized cryptocurrency funds — Washington Times","type":"news_article","url":"https://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2026/jul/13/doj-charges-inmate-laundering-seized-cryptocurrency-funds/"},{"credibility":3,"name":"Convicted Money Launderer Accused of Stealing $290K From Seized Kraken Account — UEEx Blog","type":"news_article","url":"https://blog.ueex.com/money-launderer-accused-of-stealing-290k/"},{"credibility":3,"name":"Federal Inmate Charged With Stealing $290,000 in Government-Seized Crypto — The Daily Hodl","type":"news_article","url":"https://dailyhodl.com/2026/07/12/federal-inmate-charged-with-stealing-290000-in-government-seized-crypto/"}],"summary":"Rossen G. Iossifov is a 53-year-old Bulgarian national who was convicted in 2021 in the Eastern District of Kentucky of RICO conspiracy and money laundering after operating the RG Coins cryptocurrency exchange to launder approximately $5 million in proceeds from the Alexandria Online Auction Fraud Network. While serving a 111-month federal prison sentence, Iossifov was charged in July 2026 with allegedly conspiring to steal approximately $290,000 in cryptocurrency that had been formally ordered forfeited to the United States government, routing the funds through multiple exchanges and illicit mixing services in January 2024 before the government could take custody.","timeline":[{"date":"2021-01-13","event":"Iossifov sentenced to approximately 111 months (10 years) in federal prison following conviction for RICO conspiracy and money laundering conspiracy in the Eastern District of Kentucky. Ordered to pay $2,642,297.43 in restitution and to forfeit cryptocurrency held at Kraken.","source":"CoinDesk / DOJ","source_url":"https://www.coindesk.com/policy/2021/01/13/owner-of-crypto-exchange-rg-coins-gets-10-years-in-prison-for-laundering-5m"},{"date":"2022-08-12","event":"Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals affirms Iossifov's conviction in United States v. Iossifov, No. 21-5404.","source":"Justia / 6th Circuit","source_url":"https://law.justia.com/cases/federal/appellate-courts/ca6/21-5404/21-5404-2022-08-12.html"},{"date":"2024-01-01","event":"Alleged conspiracy begins: Iossifov, while incarcerated, allegedly conspires with unidentified associates to transfer approximately $290,000 from a court-ordered forfeited Kraken account through multiple cryptocurrency exchanges and illicit mixing services before conversion to fiat deposited in a foreign bank account.","source":"DOJ Office of Public Affairs","source_url":"https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/man-serving-federal-prison-sentence-charged-theft-forfeited-cryptocurrency"},{"date":"2024-12-31","event":"Alleged end of the conspiracy period as described in charging documents.","source":"CryptoBriefing","source_url":"https://cryptobriefing.com/iossifov-charged-moving-forfeited-crypto/"},{"date":"2026-07-09","event":"DOJ announces charges against Iossifov for destruction or removal of property to prevent seizure, aiding and abetting, and conspiracy to commit money laundering. Iossifov makes initial appearance in Eastern District of Kentucky. Maximum exposure: 25 additional years in prison.","source":"DOJ Office of Public Affairs","source_url":"https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/man-serving-federal-prison-sentence-charged-theft-forfeited-cryptocurrency"}]},"v":1}
    Verify offline (run on your own machine)
    python -m src.verify_decision 95380c06-dfa2-4227-9926-6bd83cbfb92f
  2. #2reviewby reviewerreviewer
    2026-08-26 15:09:22Z
    Score: 22 (no score change)
    The page's core narrative -- a 2021 RICO/money-laundering conviction tied to the Alexandria Online Auction Fraud Network, followed by July 2026 charges alleging Iossifov moved forfeited cryptocurrency from prison -- is well corroborated by DOJ press releases, the Sixth Circuit's opinion, and independent crypto-industry press, and quoted official statements match verbatim. The significant defect found is that the page states Iossifov was 'sentenced to 111 months' in January 2021, when its own cited appellate opinion and contemporaneous 2021 reporting establish the original sentence was 121 months, with no disclosure of when or why it was later reduced to 111. Several secondary claims (foreign bank account destination, breadth of BleepingComputer's custody-gap reporting, exact timing of the $290,000 valuation) are only partially supported by their cited sources. Three of fourteen listed sources are never actually drawn on within the page's sections.
    anchoranchored
    chain
    mainnet-betaslot 443,521,348
    sig
    G7wmtGae4fSw…gg3oUXn8explorer ↗
    hash
    4EFRBazRpYT2…bCixvgNysha256 → base58
    verifying row…full verify ↗
    canonical bytes (1312 B) ▸
    {"actor":"reviewer","decided_at":"2026-08-26T15:09:21.798Z","decision":"review","investigation_id":"d4b0f97d-daa2-452a-90ca-bfeba11c25d5","new_score":2,"page_slug":"rossen-g-iossifov","prev_score":2,"reason":"The page's core narrative -- a 2021 RICO/money-laundering conviction tied to the Alexandria Online Auction Fraud Network, followed by July 2026 charges alleging Iossifov moved forfeited cryptocurrency from prison -- is well corroborated by DOJ press releases, the Sixth Circuit's opinion, and independent crypto-industry press, and quoted official statements match verbatim. The significant defect found is that the page states Iossifov was 'sentenced to 111 months' in January 2021, when its own cited appellate opinion and contemporaneous 2021 reporting establish the original sentence was 121 months, with no disclosure of when or why it was later reduced to 111. Several secondary claims (foreign bank account destination, breadth of BleepingComputer's custody-gap reporting, exact timing of the $290,000 valuation) are only partially supported by their cited sources. Three of fourteen listed sources are never actually drawn on within the page's sections.","score_delta":0,"sequence_num":2,"submission_content_hash":null,"submission_id":null,"submission_kind":null,"submission_valence":null,"v":1}
    Verify offline (run on your own machine)
    python -m src.verify_decision 13495f53-0bd6-448e-82d0-8d79e2e4fe80
  3. #3review reviseby judgejudge
    2026-08-26 15:09:22Z
    Score: 20 (-10)
    The raw disputed rate is low (2 of 30 claims, 6.67%), and the vast majority of the page holds up: the 2021 conviction, the AOAF fraud scheme details, restitution amount, the 2026 charges, and every quoted official statement (Duva, Parman, Holman) were checked against the primary DOJ release and match verbatim with correct attribution. However, one of the two disputed items is not a minor detail — it is the length of a named individual's prison sentence, and the page contradicts its own cited primary source. claim_findings[9] shows the page states Iossifov was 'sentenced to 111 months' at his January 2021 sentencing (sections[0] and timeline[0]), while the Sixth Circuit opinion the page itself cites, plus two independent contemporaneous 2021 reports, state the sentence imposed was 121 months. A separate, correctly-worded reference to '111 months' in the page summary (claim_findings[3]) describes his sentence status as of the 2026 charges, not the 2021 outcome, and was rightly confirmed — so this is one substantive error occurring in two places, not three. The review does not establish whether the 111-month figure reflects an undocumented sentence reduction sometime after the Sixth Circuit affirmed the original 121-month sentence in August 2022, or whether it is simply an error that has been carried into later reporting; no source in the review affirmatively documents a resentencing. What is established is the self-contradiction against the page's own citation, which is the more serious and certain defect regardless of how that second question resolves, and it justifies pulling this page out of a clean approval despite the low raw disputed percentage. Coverage gaps do not add further weight here: the 'current custody status' gap is a routine update-later note (the reviewer found no unreported developments to omit), and the 'sentence-length discrepancy' gap duplicates claim_findings[9] rather than surfacing an independent structural failure.
    anchoranchored
    chain
    mainnet-betaslot 443,521,447
    sig
    2vSzcpQfNShT…6oQMYvPVexplorer ↗
    hash
    9EzssjiyPse3…EuDmdKnmsha256 → base58
    verifying row…full verify ↗
    canonical bytes (2329 B) ▸
    {"actor":"judge","decided_at":"2026-08-26T15:09:21.798Z","decision":"review_revise","investigation_id":"d4b0f97d-daa2-452a-90ca-bfeba11c25d5","new_score":0,"page_slug":"rossen-g-iossifov","prev_score":2,"reason":"The raw disputed rate is low (2 of 30 claims, 6.67%), and the vast majority of the page holds up: the 2021 conviction, the AOAF fraud scheme details, restitution amount, the 2026 charges, and every quoted official statement (Duva, Parman, Holman) were checked against the primary DOJ release and match verbatim with correct attribution. However, one of the two disputed items is not a minor detail — it is the length of a named individual's prison sentence, and the page contradicts its own cited primary source. claim_findings[9] shows the page states Iossifov was 'sentenced to 111 months' at his January 2021 sentencing (sections[0] and timeline[0]), while the Sixth Circuit opinion the page itself cites, plus two independent contemporaneous 2021 reports, state the sentence imposed was 121 months. A separate, correctly-worded reference to '111 months' in the page summary (claim_findings[3]) describes his sentence status as of the 2026 charges, not the 2021 outcome, and was rightly confirmed — so this is one substantive error occurring in two places, not three. The review does not establish whether the 111-month figure reflects an undocumented sentence reduction sometime after the Sixth Circuit affirmed the original 121-month sentence in August 2022, or whether it is simply an error that has been carried into later reporting; no source in the review affirmatively documents a resentencing. What is established is the self-contradiction against the page's own citation, which is the more serious and certain defect regardless of how that second question resolves, and it justifies pulling this page out of a clean approval despite the low raw disputed percentage. Coverage gaps do not add further weight here: the 'current custody status' gap is a routine update-later note (the reviewer found no unreported developments to omit), and the 'sentence-length discrepancy' gap duplicates claim_findings[9] rather than surfacing an independent structural failure.","score_delta":-10,"sequence_num":3,"submission_content_hash":null,"submission_id":null,"submission_kind":null,"submission_valence":null,"v":1}
    Verify offline (run on your own machine)
    python -m src.verify_decision e068e9a6-da57-4adc-a69b-c0385a1672ae
How verification works. The “Row integrity” check above is computed in your browser — your machine recomputes the SHA-256 of the canonical bytes and compares against the stored hash. No avoid.net server can fake that check. The “full verify” link goes one level deeper: your browser fetches the on-chain transaction from a Solana RPC node and confirms the same hash is in the memo. If you don’t want to trust either avoid.net or the public RPC, run the CLI verifier on your own machine — python -m src.verify_decision <event_id>.