Skip to main content
AVOID.NET
← QuadrigaCX / Gerald Cottenreviewed 2026-09-06 · 37 claims checked

Fact-check findings

What an automated fact-checker found when it re-read QuadrigaCX / Gerald Cotten against the sources the page cites. Only the most recent review is shown.

Read this first

These findings are produced by an automated reviewer, and its results vary between runs: the same page, checked three times on the same day, came back with 15%, 20% and 34% of its claims disputed, mostly because each run extracted a different number of claims. Treat what follows as leads, not rulings.

“Disputed” means the reviewer could not reconcile the claim with the evidence it cited. It does not mean the claim is false. “Unverifiable” means no reachable source settled it either way.

Nothing here changes the page on its own. A proposed correction is applied only after a human moderator approves it; until then the page reads as it did when reviewed.

disputed

1 claim

The reviewer could not reconcile the claim with the evidence it cited. This is a lead, not a ruling that the claim is false.

  1. #31[disputed][awaiting moderator]in section: Public Documentation and Media Coverage
    “Jennifer Robertson published a memoir titled 'Bitcoin Widow' in 2021, providing her account of events.”
    reviewerJennifer Robertson published a memoir titled 'Bitcoin Widow' in 2021.Multiple independent sources (Goodreads, HarperCollins Canada publisher page, contemporaneous reviews) place the book's publication on January 18, 2022, not 2021. No source cited on the page supports the 2021 date.
    Proposed correction (not yet applied)
    Jennifer Robertson published a memoir titled 'Bitcoin Widow' in 2022, providing her account of events.

unverifiable

1 claim

No source the reviewer could reach confirms or contradicts the claim.

  1. #19[unverifiable][awaiting moderator]in section: Gerald Cotten's Death and Disputed Circumstances
    “The RCMP has not publicly disclosed the outcome of any investigation into his death.”
    reviewerThe RCMP has not publicly disclosed the outcome of any investigation into Cotten's death.Absence of public disclosure is difficult to prove definitively; no source confirms or denies an internal RCMP conclusion.

partially supported

1 claim

The cited evidence supports part of the claim but not all of it.

  1. #6[partially supported][awaiting moderator]in section: Co-Founder Criminal History: Michael Patryn / Omar Dhanani
    “As a teenager, Dhanani was allegedly involved in online Ponzi schemes on the forum TalkGold, alongside a person using the handle 'Sceptre' — later identified as Cotten himself.”
    reviewerAs a teenager, Dhanani was involved in Ponzi schemes on TalkGold alongside 'Sceptre,' later identified as Cotten.The underlying fact is true and well documented, but none of the three sources actually cited for this section (CoinTelegraph identity story, Wikipedia, and the 0xSifu Amy Castor article) cover the TalkGold/Sceptre detail — the correct citation is a different Amy Castor article not listed.

confirmed

31 claims

The cited evidence supports the claim as written.

  1. #1[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Background and Founding
    “was founded in November 2013 in Vancouver, British Columbia by Gerald William Cotten and Michael Patryn”
    reviewerQuadrigaCX was founded in November 2013 in Vancouver, British Columbia by Gerald William Cotten and Michael Patryn.Consistent across Wikipedia and multiple news sources on the case.
  2. #2[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Background and Founding
    “By 2017, C$1.2 billion worth of assets were exchanged through the platform annually.”
    reviewerBy 2017, C$1.2 billion worth of assets were exchanged through QuadrigaCX annually.Figure matches independently retrieved Wikipedia data.
  3. #3[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Co-Founder Criminal History: Michael Patryn / Omar Dhanani
    “Co-founder Michael Patryn was identified by The Globe and Mail as Omar Dhanani, a convicted criminal who had served 18 months in a U.S. federal prison for identity theft and fraud-related offenses.”
    reviewerMichael Patryn was identified as Omar Dhanani, who served 18 months in U.S. federal prison for identity theft/fraud offenses.Multiple independent tier-1/2 sources corroborate the identity and sentence length.
  4. #4[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Co-Founder Criminal History: Michael Patryn / Omar Dhanani
    “Dhanani pleaded guilty in 2005 to conspiracy to commit credit and bank card fraud, and again in 2007 to burglary, grand larceny, and computer fraud.”
    reviewerDhanani pleaded guilty in 2005 to conspiracy to commit credit and bank card fraud, and again in 2007 to burglary, grand larceny, and computer fraud.Charge terminology varies slightly by outlet (some call it 'access device fraud' or 'conspiracy to transfer identification documents') but substance matches.
  5. #5[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Co-Founder Criminal History: Michael Patryn / Omar Dhanani
    “He changed his name from Omar Dhanani to Omar Patryn in 2003 and to Michael Patryn in 2008.”
    reviewerHe changed his name from Omar Dhanani to Omar Patryn in 2003 and to Michael Patryn in 2008.Corroborated by the original Globe and Mail investigative reporting.
  6. #7[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Co-Founder Criminal History: Michael Patryn / Omar Dhanani
    “In January 2022, Patryn resurfaced as '0xSifu,' the treasury manager of the DeFi protocol Wonderland, prompting that project's collapse after his identity was publicly revealed.”
    reviewerIn January 2022, Patryn resurfaced as '0xSifu,' Wonderland's treasury manager, prompting the project's collapse.Identity reveal date and downstream project collapse both independently corroborated.
  7. #8[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Fraud Mechanics and Ponzi Scheme Operation
    “The Ontario Securities Commission's June 2020 investigative report concluded that QuadrigaCX was 'an old-fashioned fraud wrapped in modern technology.'”
    reviewerThe OSC's June 2020 report concluded QuadrigaCX was 'an old-fashioned fraud wrapped in modern technology.'Direct quote verified against the OSC report and contemporaneous news coverage.
  8. #9[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Fraud Mechanics and Ponzi Scheme Operation
    “Approximately C$115 million of the total shortfall arose from this internal fraudulent trading.”
    reviewerApproximately C$115 million of the shortfall arose from Cotten's internal fraudulent trading.Figure matches OSC report as reported by multiple outlets.
  9. #10[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Fraud Mechanics and Ponzi Scheme Operation
    “Cotten also transferred approximately C$24 million of client funds to himself and his wife Jennifer Robertson between 2016 and 2018, using the funds to purchase luxury vehicles, a yacht, a Cessna 400 aircraft, and multiple real estate properties.”
    reviewerCotten transferred approximately C$24 million of client funds to himself and Robertson between 2016 and 2018 for luxury purchases.Amount and date range match OSC-sourced reporting.
  10. #11[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Fraud Mechanics and Ponzi Scheme Operation
    “He additionally sustained losses of approximately C$28 million trading client assets on three external platforms.”
    reviewerCotten sustained losses of approximately C$28 million trading client assets on three external platforms.Confirmed; this is a separate $28M figure from the unrelated CIBC/Costodian freeze mentioned in the timeline, which coincidentally shares the same amount.
  11. #12[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Cold Wallets: Empty Before Cotten's Death
    “Following Cotten's reported death, QuadrigaCX's lawyers and Robertson claimed that approximately C$190 million in customer cryptocurrency was locked in cold wallets to which only Cotten held the passwords.”
    reviewerApproximately C$190 million in customer cryptocurrency was claimed to be locked in cold wallets only Cotten could access.Widely and consistently reported figure.
  12. #13[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Cold Wallets: Empty Before Cotten's Death
    “Blockchain analysis subsequently determined that the supposed cold wallets were empty — drained as early as April 2018, eight months before Cotten's death was reported.”
    reviewerThe cold wallets were drained as early as April 2018, eight months before Cotten's death was reported.Consistent with NPR's original reporting and the OSC's later findings.
  13. #14[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Cold Wallets: Empty Before Cotten's Death
    “In December 2022, approximately 104 bitcoins linked to QuadrigaCX wallets moved for the first time in three years; Chainalysis reported these were sent to Wasabi, a cryptocurrency mixing service, in transactions apparently not initiated by Ernst & Young.”
    reviewerApproximately 104 bitcoins linked to QuadrigaCX wallets moved in December 2022 to Wasabi, apparently not initiated by Ernst & Young.The 'first time in three years' framing is approximate — EY reported losing access to these wallets in February 2019, roughly 3.8 years before the December 2022 movement — but this is a minor imprecision, not a material misstatement.
  14. #15[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Gerald Cotten's Death and Disputed Circumstances
    “Gerald Cotten was admitted to Fortis Escorts Hospital in Jaipur, India on December 8, 2018 and was declared dead on December 9, 2018 at approximately 7:26 p.m. IST, officially of septic shock and complications from Crohn's disease.”
    reviewerCotten was admitted to hospital Dec 8, 2018 and declared dead Dec 9, 2018 at ~7:26pm IST of septic shock/Crohn's complications; no autopsy performed.Time, dates, and cause of death corroborated by independent reporting on the hospital's statement.
  15. #16[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Gerald Cotten's Death and Disputed Circumstances
    “No autopsy was performed in India.”
    reviewerNo autopsy was performed in India.Consistently reported across sources.
  16. #17[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Gerald Cotten's Death and Disputed Circumstances
    “a will had been signed just 12 days before the trip, naming Robertson as sole beneficiary of a C$9.6 million estate”
    reviewerA will had been signed just 12 days before the trip, naming Robertson as sole beneficiary of a C$9.6 million estate.Confirmed via independent sources, though the cited CoinTelegraph URL itself is dead — see separate link-rot finding.
  17. #18[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Gerald Cotten's Death and Disputed Circumstances
    “Cotten's name was reportedly misspelled on the death certificate;”
    reviewerCotten's name was reportedly misspelled on the death certificate.Widely reported detail, confirmed.
  18. #20[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Exhumation Request
    “In December 2019, Canadian law firm Miller Thomson formally requested that the RCMP conduct an exhumation and post-mortem autopsy of Cotten's remains to confirm his death, citing the 'questionable circumstances surrounding Mr. Cotten's death and the significant losses' sustained by exchange users.”
    reviewerIn December 2019, Miller Thomson formally requested RCMP exhume and autopsy Cotten's remains.Quoted language and law firm name confirmed by independent reporting.
  19. #21[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Exhumation Request
    “Lawyers for creditors escalated pressure in January 2020, requesting the process be completed by spring 2020 due to decomposition concerns.”
    reviewerLawyers escalated pressure in January 2020, requesting completion by spring 2020 due to decomposition concerns.Corroborated by CoinDesk's January 2020 follow-up reporting.
  20. #22[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Exhumation Request
    “As of public reporting available through mid-2025, no exhumation had been publicly confirmed as having taken place.”
    reviewerAs of public reporting available through mid-2025, no exhumation had been publicly confirmed as having taken place.No subsequent reporting of an actual exhumation was found through the current review date.
  21. #23[confirmed][no action needed]in section: CCAA Proceedings, Asset Recovery, and Creditor Payouts
    “On January 31, 2019, QuadrigaCX applied for creditor protection under the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act (CCAA) in Nova Scotia. A court granted temporary protection on February 5, 2019, and Ernst & Young was appointed as independent monitor. The exchange was formally assigned into bankruptcy on April 15, 2019.”
    reviewerQuadrigaCX applied for CCAA protection Jan 31, 2019; granted Feb 5, 2019; assigned into bankruptcy April 15, 2019.All three dates independently corroborated.
  22. #24[confirmed][no action needed]in section: CCAA Proceedings, Asset Recovery, and Creditor Payouts
    “More than 76,000 unsecured creditors submitted claims totaling C$214.6 million.”
    reviewerMore than 76,000 unsecured creditors submitted claims totaling C$214.6 million.Figure matches OSC-sourced reporting precisely.
  23. #25[confirmed][no action needed]in section: CCAA Proceedings, Asset Recovery, and Creditor Payouts
    “Ernst & Young recovered approximately C$46 million in assets from various sources, including third-party payment processors.”
    reviewerErnst & Young recovered approximately C$46 million in assets from various sources, including third-party payment processors.Confirmed.
  24. #26[confirmed][no action needed]in section: CCAA Proceedings, Asset Recovery, and Creditor Payouts
    “Jennifer Robertson reached a settlement returning approximately C$12 million in assets, including properties, a yacht, the Cessna aircraft, and luxury vehicles; she was permitted to retain C$90,000 in cash, her wedding ring, a Jeep Cherokee, and personal belongings.”
    reviewerRobertson settled by returning ~C$12 million in assets, retaining C$90,000 cash, wedding ring, a Jeep Cherokee, and personal belongings.Note: a contemporaneous CoinDesk headline described the settlement as '$9 million,' which is the USD-equivalent of the same C$12 million figure, not a contradiction.
  25. #27[confirmed][no action needed]in section: CCAA Proceedings, Asset Recovery, and Creditor Payouts
    “In May 2023, Ernst & Young announced that creditors would receive approximately 13 cents on the dollar — an interim dividend of approximately C$39.5 million representing 87% of the then-held funds.”
    reviewerIn May 2023, Ernst & Young announced creditors would receive ~13 cents on the dollar, an interim dividend of ~C$39.5 million, 87% of held funds.13% and 87% figures independently confirmed; exact C$39.5 million total was not independently re-verified but is consistent with reported claim totals.
  26. #28[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Regulatory Findings and Lack of Oversight
    “The report documented that Cotten traded over one billion dollars' worth of assets and over five million crypto asset units through the platform, sustaining losses using customer funds without disclosure.”
    reviewerOSC report documented Cotten traded over $1 billion of assets and over 5 million crypto asset units through the platform.Near-verbatim match to OSC's own release language.
  27. #29[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Regulatory Findings and Lack of Oversight
    “The British Columbia Securities Commission also participated in joint regulatory examination.”
    reviewerThe British Columbia Securities Commission also participated in joint regulatory examination.BCSC was one of many regulators credited with assistance; characterizing it as the sole other named Canadian regulator understates the roster (which also included Quebec's AMF, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick securities regulators, and several foreign regulators) but is not inaccurate.
  28. #30[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Public Documentation and Media Coverage
    “The Netflix documentary 'Trust No One: The Hunt for the Crypto King,' directed by Luke Sewell and released on March 30, 2022, brought the QuadrigaCX case to a global audience, accumulating over 12 million viewing hours in its first week.”
    reviewerNetflix's 'Trust No One: The Hunt for the Crypto King,' directed by Luke Sewell, released March 30, 2022, drew 12 million+ viewing hours in its first week.Director name, release date, and viewership figure all independently confirmed.
  29. #32[confirmed][no action needed]in the timeline
    “Exchange installs second Bitcoin ATM in Vancouver; C$7.4 million in bitcoin exchanged through the year.”
    reviewer2014: Exchange installs second Bitcoin ATM in Vancouver; C$7.4 million in bitcoin exchanged through the year.Confirmed against Wikipedia's sourced figures.
  30. #33[confirmed][no action needed]in the timeline
    “QuadrigaCX processes C$1.2 billion in trades; also loses approximately US$14 million in Ethereum due to a smart contract error.”
    reviewer2017: QuadrigaCX processes C$1.2 billion in trades; loses ~US$14 million in Ethereum due to a smart contract error.Confirmed.
  31. #34[confirmed][no action needed]in the timeline
    “CIBC freezes approximately C$28 million in QuadrigaCX funds held by payment processor Costodian Inc., citing inability to identify the beneficial owner.”
    reviewer2018: CIBC freezes approximately C$28 million in QuadrigaCX funds held by Costodian Inc., citing inability to identify beneficial owner.Confirmed; this is a coincidentally identical dollar figure to the separate $28M external-trading-loss figure in sections[2], but the two are unrelated events, both independently sourced.
How this fits together. The reviewer reads the published page and its cited sources and records one finding per claim. A human moderator decides whether each proposed correction is applied; those decisions, and the score changes they cause, appear in the audit log. Earlier review runs are not shown here; only the latest reflects the page as it stands.