Fact-check findings
What an automated fact-checker found when it re-read Platypus Finance against the sources the page cites. Only the most recent review is shown.
These findings are produced by an automated reviewer, and its results vary between runs: the same page, checked three times on the same day, came back with 15%, 20% and 34% of its claims disputed, mostly because each run extracted a different number of claims. Treat what follows as leads, not rulings.
“Disputed” means the reviewer could not reconcile the claim with the evidence it cited. It does not mean the claim is false. “Unverifiable” means no reachable source settled it either way.
Nothing here changes the page on its own. A proposed correction is applied only after a human moderator approves it; until then the page reads as it did when reviewed.
disputed
1 claimThe reviewer could not reconcile the claim with the evidence it cited. This is a lead, not a ruling that the claim is false.
- #1[disputed][awaiting moderator]in the summary
“losing a combined total of approximately $11.75 million”
reviewerCombined losses across the three 2023 exploits were about $11.75 millionThe page's own figures ($8.5-9.1M + ~$0.05M + ~$2.2M) sum to about $10.75-11.35M, not $11.75M. The correction is the sum of the page's own per-incident figures. DL News's third-hack figure is lower still ($1.6M).Proposed correction (not yet applied)losing a combined total of approximately $10.8–11.4 million
unverifiable
1 claimNo source the reviewer could reach confirms or contradicts the claim.
- #5[unverifiable][awaiting moderator]in section: Arrest and Acquittal of Alleged Attackers
“Prosecutors had sought a five-year prison sentence for Mohammed M.”
reviewerProsecutors sought a five-year prison sentence for Mohammed M.The primary cited source does not state the sentence request. I did not check Le Monde or the other cited outlets.
partially supported
5 claimsThe cited evidence supports part of the claim but not all of it.
- #2[partially supported][awaiting moderator]in the summary
“as of 2024 the protocol's total value locked had collapsed from over $200 million at peak to below $100,000”
reviewerTVL fell from over $200 million at peak to below $100,000 as of 2024Contradicts the page's own body, which says a $1.2B peak and a TVL below $55,000. The $200M peak and the $100,000 floor are inconsistent with every source seen. The direction (collapse) is correct. I could not fetch a source to supply an exact replacement. - #3[partially supported][awaiting moderator]in section: Protocol Overview
“As of mid-2024, TVL stands below $55,000.”
reviewerTVL stands below $55,000 as of mid-2024The figure is dated; current TVL appears to be far lower (about $26K per a search snippet, not fetched). The mid-2024 value could not be verified. - #4[partially supported][awaiting moderator]in section: October 2023 Third Exploit (~$2.2 Million)
“losing approximately $2.2 million in Staked AVAX (sAVAX) and Wrapped AVAX (WAVAX) tokens”
reviewerThird exploit losses were approximately $2.2 millionOutlets disagree: The Block, Crypto Times and Crypto Daily say $2.2M, while DL News (on the page's own source list) says $1.6M. The page should note the range. - #6[partially supported][awaiting moderator]in the timeline
“2023-12-04”
reviewerThe acquittal occurred on 2023-12-04The timeline date is the CoinDesk publication date. The ruling was reported by Le Monde on 2023-12-01 and may have been issued earlier. The date of the ruling itself was not established. - #7[partially supported][awaiting moderator]in the timeline
“Court rules that exploiting a public smart contract does not constitute unauthorized computer access or fraud under French law.”
reviewerThe Paris court ruled that exploiting a public smart contract is neither unauthorized access nor fraudThe acquittal is confirmed, but the broad legal holding is not stated in the CoinDesk article I fetched. The page presents it as general doctrine, and the article describes a case-specific outcome.
confirmed
1 claimThe cited evidence supports the claim as written.
- #8[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Arrest and Acquittal of Alleged Attackers
“argued that he was an 'ethical hacker' who had accessed a publicly available smart contract intending to safeguard the funds and return them in exchange for a 10% recovery bounty”
reviewerTwo brothers were acquitted in Dec 2023 after one argued he was an ethical hacker, with a 10% bountySupported by CoinDesk, citing Le Monde. The article does not call the two men brothers.