Fact-check findings
What an automated fact-checker found when it re-read PeopleDAO against the sources the page cites. Only the most recent review is shown.
These findings are produced by an automated reviewer, and its results vary between runs: the same page, checked three times on the same day, came back with 15%, 20% and 34% of its claims disputed, mostly because each run extracted a different number of claims. Treat what follows as leads, not rulings.
“Disputed” means the reviewer could not reconcile the claim with the evidence it cited. It does not mean the claim is false. “Unverifiable” means no reachable source settled it either way.
Nothing here changes the page on its own. A proposed correction is applied only after a human moderator approves it; until then the page reads as it did when reviewed.
unverifiable
4 claimsNo source the reviewer could reach confirms or contradicts the claim.
- #6[unverifiable][awaiting moderator]in section: Background and Origins
“By its own account, PeopleDAO raised approximately $5.4 million in funding for operational and incubation purposes.”
reviewerPeopleDAO raised/held approximately $5.4 million for operational and incubation purposes.The cited official website does not state this figure anywhere I could find, and one PeopleDAO contributor-call note suggests a much smaller treasury in late 2022. I could not fully verify the Notion page's content directly (it would not render), so this is unverifiable rather than disputed, but it is a questionable figure that recurs across the page.citedpeople-dao.com/ - #8[unverifiable][awaiting moderator]in section: Governance Structure
“No named founders or executives have been publicly identified as directing the organization, consistent with its stated decentralized structure.”
reviewerNo named founders or executives have been publicly identified as directing PeopleDAO.No evidence of a named founder turned up in independent searches either, which is consistent with the claim, but the primary citation could not be accessed to confirm the governance-structure details directly. - #14[unverifiable][awaiting moderator]in section: Operational Controls and Financial Risks
“The $120,000 loss represented a significant portion of the DAO's reported $5.4 million treasury.”
reviewerThe $120,000 loss represented a significant portion of the DAO's reported $5.4 million treasury.Same unverified $5.4 million figure as elsewhere on the page; neither cited source states it, and a PeopleDAO contributor-call note suggests a much smaller treasury in late 2022. - #23[unverifiable][awaiting moderator]in the timeline
“PeopleDAO reports incubation of PandaDAO and LanguageDAO as subDAOs, plus Constitution Fractionalized as a community project. Treasury reportedly holds approximately $5.4 million.”
reviewerPeopleDAO reports incubation of PandaDAO and LanguageDAO, plus Constitution Fractionalized, with a treasury reportedly holding approximately $5.4 million, as of June 2022.The incubation portion of this entry is confirmed against the live site, but the $5.4 million treasury figure is not stated there and could not be independently verified; it is the same recurring unverified figure flagged elsewhere on the page (defect_group peopledao-5.4m-treasury).citedpeople-dao.com/
link rot
1 claimA cited source no longer resolves or no longer says what the page attributes to it.
- #24[link rot][awaiting moderator]in section: Security Incident: March 2023 Payment Spreadsheet Exploit
“https://cryptotvplus.com/2023/03/peopledao-loses-76-5-eth-to-hack/”
reviewerCryptoTVplus source on the March 2023 hack is a live, working citation.Could not confirm this URL is currently reachable. The underlying claim it supports is independently corroborated by The Block and web3isgoinggreat, which remain live, so this is a single dead/unreliable citation rather than an unsupported claim. A working archive.org snapshot already exists in sources_used and is proposed as the replacement.Proposed correction (not yet applied)http://web.archive.org/web/20260313082943/https://cryptotvplus.com/2023/03/peopledao-loses-76-5-eth-to-hack/
partially supported
2 claimsThe cited evidence supports part of the claim but not all of it.
- #13[partially supported][awaiting moderator]in the timeline
“PeopleDAO publicly discloses the theft, reports it to the FBI and FTC, engages ZachXBT and SlowMist for on-chain tracing, and offers a 10% white hat bounty to the attacker. Attacker sends 69.2 ETH to HitBTC and 7.3 ETH to Binance.”
reviewerOn March 11, 2023, PeopleDAO publicly disclosed the theft, reported it to the FBI and FTC, engaged ZachXBT and SlowMist, offered a 10% bounty, and the attacker sent 69.2 ETH to HitBTC and 7.3 ETH to Binance — sourced to The Block.The underlying facts are all true, but they are drawn from two different sources published on two different dates (web3isgoinggreat's March 11 entry for the disclosure/FBI/FTC, and The Block's March 13 article for ZachXBT/SlowMist/bounty/exchange detail) and attributed in the timeline to a single source ('The Block') that does not itself support the full entry as dated. - #18[partially supported][awaiting moderator]in section: Token and Community Status
“As of early 2026, Etherscan data showed approximately 19,203 holders and a price of approximately $0.007, implying an on-chain market cap of roughly $35.6 million.”
reviewerAs of early 2026, Etherscan showed ~19,203 holders, price ~$0.007, implied market cap ~$35.6 million for PEOPLE.The figures are directionally correct and in the right order of magnitude, but the source cited (sources_used entry) carries an archive_timestamp of 2026-07-25, which is mid-year, not 'early 2026' as the page states. The underlying numbers are plausible but the date label attached to them is inaccurate.
confirmed
17 claimsThe cited evidence supports the claim as written.
- #1[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Background and Origins
“ConstitutionDAO — a single-purpose DAO that raised over $47 million from more than 17,000 contributors in an attempt to purchase a first-edition copy of the U.S. Constitution at a Sotheby's auction — failed to win its bid.”
reviewerConstitutionDAO raised over $47 million from more than 17,000 contributors to bid on a first-edition U.S. Constitution at a Sotheby's auction and lost the bid.Independently corroborated by CNBC, Fortune, NBC/KSL wire coverage in addition to the cited source. - #2[confirmed][no action needed]in the timeline
“ConstitutionDAO forms and raises over $47 million in ETH from more than 17,000 contributors to bid on a first-edition U.S. Constitution at Sotheby's.”
reviewerConstitutionDAO forms Nov 2021 and raises over $47 million from more than 17,000 contributors.Consistent with contemporaneous reporting. - #3[confirmed][no action needed]in the timeline
“ConstitutionDAO loses the Sotheby's auction. Founders dissolve the DAO, burn admin control of the $PEOPLE token, and begin donor refunds.”
reviewerConstitutionDAO lost the Sotheby's auction on November 18, 2021, dissolved, burned admin control of $PEOPLE, and began donor refunds.Note: the page's own cited source, Gate Learn, states the auction occurred Nov 19, but CNBC/Fortune/NBC wire coverage from the day of the auction confirms Nov 18 is correct, so the timeline date itself is accurate. - #4[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Background and Origins
“Community members then organized PeopleDAO as a successor metaDAO, formally adopting $PEOPLE as its governance token through a Snapshot vote that garnered approximately 645 million PEOPLE tokens in participation (roughly 12.8% of circulating supply at the time).”
reviewerA Snapshot vote on December 6, 2021 formally established PeopleDAO, adopting $PEOPLE as governance token, with approximately 645 million PEOPLE tokens (about 12.8% of circulating supply) participating.The exact figures are not stated on the specific page cited (people-dao.com), but are independently confirmed by Binance Research and PeopleDAO's own POAP page naming December 6 as the formation date, so the underlying claim holds even though the citation is imprecise.citedpeople-dao.com/ - #5[confirmed][no action needed]in the timeline
“Community Snapshot vote establishes PeopleDAO, adopting $PEOPLE as governance token. Approximately 645 million PEOPLE tokens participate in the vote.”
reviewerA Snapshot vote established PeopleDAO on December 6, 2021.Date and participation figure corroborated by independent third-party sources.citedpeople-dao.com/ - #7[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Governance Structure
“At the time of the March 2023 treasury incident, the multisig required six of nine signers to approve transactions.”
reviewerAt the time of the March 2023 incident, PeopleDAO's multisig required six of nine signers to approve transactions.Confirmed via independent reporting even though the primary cited source (mirror.xyz) returned HTTP 403 to automated fetch and could not be directly verified. - #9[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Security Incident: March 2023 Payment Spreadsheet Exploit
“On or around March 6, 2023, PeopleDAO's community treasury lost approximately 76.5 ETH (valued at roughly $120,000 at the time) as a result of a social engineering attack.”
reviewerOn or around March 6, 2023, PeopleDAO lost approximately 76.5 ETH (~$120,000) in a social engineering attack via an accidentally shared editable payment spreadsheet.Well corroborated across multiple independent outlets. - #10[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Security Incident: March 2023 Payment Spreadsheet Exploit
“Following the transfer, the attacker sent approximately 69.2 ETH to HitBTC and 7.3 ETH to Binance.”
reviewerThe attacker sent approximately 69.2 ETH to HitBTC and 7.3 ETH to Binance.Matches cited source exactly. - #11[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Security Incident: March 2023 Payment Spreadsheet Exploit
“PeopleDAO reported the theft to the FBI and the FTC, engaged blockchain security firms ZachXBT and SlowMist to assist with on-chain tracing, and offered a 10% white hat bounty to the attacker.”
reviewerPeopleDAO reported the theft to the FBI and FTC, engaged ZachXBT and SlowMist, and offered a 10% white hat bounty.No single cited source contains every element, but the full claim is supported by the combination of the two sources cited for this section. - #12[confirmed][no action needed]in the timeline
“PeopleDAO accounting lead accidentally shares an editable payment spreadsheet link in a public Discord channel. An unknown third party inserts a fraudulent 76.5 ETH payment row, hides it, and the multisig approves the batch transfer. PeopleDAO loses approximately $120,000.”
reviewerPeopleDAO accounting lead accidentally shared an editable payment spreadsheet link in a public Discord channel on March 6, 2023, leading to a $120,000 loss.Consistent with cited source and independent reporting. - #15[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Regulatory and Legal Status
“No regulatory action by the SEC, CFTC, DOJ, or any other government authority against PeopleDAO or its named contributors has been found in publicly available records.”
reviewerNo regulatory action by the SEC, CFTC, DOJ, or other government authority against PeopleDAO or its contributors has been found; no civil lawsuits involving PeopleDAO identified.No evidence of regulatory or civil action against PeopleDAO found in independent searches. This is an absence-of-evidence claim and should be read as current as of this review. - #16[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Token and Community Status
“KuCoin removed PEOPLE from Spot Margin trading in November 2025, reflecting reduced institutional liquidity support.”
reviewerKuCoin removed PEOPLE from Spot Margin trading in November 2025.Confirmed directly against KuCoin's own announcement, independent of the cited CCN article (which returned HTTP 403 to automated fetch). - #17[confirmed][no action needed]in the timeline
“KuCoin removes $PEOPLE from Spot Margin trading, reducing leveraged liquidity options for the token.”
reviewerKuCoin removes $PEOPLE from Spot Margin trading, reducing leveraged liquidity options, in November 2025.Confirmed via KuCoin's own announcement. - #19[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Token and Community Status
“The token had a total supply of approximately 5.06 billion.”
reviewerThe $PEOPLE token had a total supply of approximately 5.06 billion.Exact match to live data. - #20[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Token and Community Status
“Price action in 2024 was driven in part by renewed retail interest in 'PolitiFi' tokens.”
reviewerPrice action in 2024 was driven in part by renewed retail interest in 'PolitiFi' tokens.Consistent with multiple independent 2024 reports describing PEOPLE as a leading PolitiFi-category token. - #21[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Token and Community Status
“GitHub activity attributed to PeopleDAO's repositories showed contributions as recently as August 2024.”
reviewerGitHub activity attributed to PeopleDAO's repositories showed contributions as recently as August 2024.Confirmed directly against the live GitHub org page. - #22[confirmed][no action needed]in section: Token and Community Status
“The original PeopleDAO website (people-dao.com) remains live, last reflecting operational content from approximately June 2022.”
reviewerThe original PeopleDAO website (people-dao.com) remains live, last reflecting operational content from approximately June 2022.Confirmed directly against the live site.citedpeople-dao.com/